Philosophical Discussions

One of my favorite things to do is to sit in a tavern, have a few drinks and engage in deep philosophical discussions. However, it seems like I’m odd when it comes to that. For instance, the other night my electricity was out, so wanting to watch the University of Georgia in the College World Series, I went to Chili’s to sit at the bar, drink ice water and watch the game. i have to watch my home team.

While sitting there I decided to listen in to what people around me were discussing. The table to my right had four older women. And, of course, they were talking about “Sex in the City” and reality shows that come on television. I thought to myself, “Lord, I sure hope these people don’t vote, and if they do, could you somehow make them fall ill on election day so they miss their chance to vote.”

The men to my left were actually talking about some crap on MTV. I’m hesitant to call them men.

The point is, I want to form some type of group that will meet up once a week or so, and sit around and engage in deep philosophical discussions on economics, human nature, the role of government, what it means to actually live in a free society, and on and on and on.

I’m very familiar with Meet Up from the Ron Paul campaign, so I was thinking about forming a NOVA Political Philosophy Meet Up group. But, before I pay the fee, I wanted to make sure that I wouldn’t be sitting at the tavern having a discussion with myself.

Any takers either leave me a comment on here or drop me an email at:

brianrgentry@gmail.com

Update:  This group is open, not just to Libertarians and Conservatives, but also to Leftist, Centrist, Moderates, and basically anyone else.

Update II:   Any recommendations on names?  Someone recommended the Meet Up be called “The Philosophical Supper Meet Up.”

Published in: on June 20, 2008 at 12:51 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theoldright.wordpress.com/2008/06/20/philosophical-discussions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This sounds awesome…count me in! Actually, it makes me sad when people can’t have philosophical discussions about things. For example, I love the show “Sex and the City,” but I would much rather prefer the conversations about freedom and intellectual commentary.

  2. That shows how much I know about TV. It’s “Sex and the City,” not, as I put it, “Sex in the City.”

    I stand corrected.

  3. Um, yeah…most people wouldn’t get it unless they watched the show. I lived in NYC and there were “Sex and The City” tours, and I can’t wait to see the movie :-).

  4. “Sex in the City” would be cool.

    Hell, I’m down for having sex “in” the city.

  5. Any takers email me here:

    brianrgentry@gmail.com

    🙂

  6. Gentry,

    You are too funny!! Watch the show and you’ll become a fan.

  7. Forget that.

    I’m trying to film my own show, “Sex IN the City.”

  8. I stumbled across your blog recently and have enjoyed many parts of it. While doing so, I found out that it is run by you, Mr. Gentry. Glad to see you still working hard at it. If I was up in Northern VA, I would be happy to join you for these discussions, but I still am here in the Valley.

    Hope to hear from you again soon.

    Joshua Huffman

  9. I have to say that I’ve just come across your blog earlier this afternoon and have been impressed, impressioned, both…by most of what you have written. And this idea sounds fantastic. If I were in VA, I would come by, but as it is, I am deep in the south. Guess I will have to form my own.


Leave a Reply

